Nucleus vs Goodcall: which AI receptionist fits your business?
Which is right for you?
Choose Nucleus if you want a flat-rate plan, a free tier and a Canadian number. Choose Goodcall if you want an agent you can edit by describing changes in plain English, with CRM and API tool connections and published SOC 2 and HIPAA claims. Goodcall bills by unique customer rather than by minute, which suits some businesses and not others.
Feature comparison
| Feature | Nucleus | Goodcall |
|---|---|---|
| Answers calls 24/7 | Yes | Yes |
| Pricing model | Free plan, then a flat monthly plan | Monthly plans by number of unique customers, with per-customer overage; no per-minute charges |
| Free plan or trial | Free plan | Free demo agent; you pay when you connect a number |
| Canadian phone number | Yes, new US or Canadian number | Not mentioned |
| Keep your existing number | Yes, on the paid plan | Yes, by forwarding |
| Call transfer | Yes, to US or Canadian numbers (some limitations apply) | Yes, you choose who receives transfers |
| Recordings and transcripts | On the paid plan | Every call recorded and transcribed |
| Languages | Not stated | Not stated |
| Integrations | Not on the self-serve plans | Google Calendar and HighLevel (homepage); Zapier, API and MCP tools (pricing page) |
| Plain-English agent editing | Not stated | Yes |
| SOC 2 / HIPAA | In progress, targeted for the end of 2027 | Its homepage claims SOC 2 and HIPAA compliance |
Nucleus is the better fit when
- You want a free plan you can keep, not only a demo.
- You need a Canadian number.
- You prefer a flat plan to counting unique callers.
Goodcall is the better fit when
- You want to build and adjust the agent yourself in plain English.
- You need CRM or custom tool connections.
- A vendor that publishes SOC 2 and HIPAA claims matters to you. Nucleus is working towards both, targeted for the end of 2027.
Frequently asked questions
How does Goodcall charge compared with Nucleus?
▾
Goodcall counts unique customers (one phone number counts once a month) and states there are no per-minute charges. Nucleus has a free plan and a flat monthly paid plan. Check both pricing pages for current amounts.
Can I try Goodcall for free?
▾
Goodcall offers a free demo agent. You pay when you connect a phone number. Nucleus offers a free plan you can use with a real number.
Does Goodcall work in Canada?
▾
Its pricing page does not say. Nucleus offers new US or Canadian numbers. Confirm with Goodcall.
Does Goodcall have SOC 2 and HIPAA?
▾
Its homepage says so. Nucleus is working towards both, targeted for the end of 2027.
Can both transfer calls to my team?
▾
Yes. Both let you choose who receives transfers. Nucleus transfers to US or Canadian numbers, with some limitations.
Competitor details were read from their own websites in October 2026 and may have changed since.
See also: Nucleus pricing · Nucleus vs Smith.ai · Nucleus vs Rosie